The Artist becomes Designer

The images for Bowler Business Review use photography in a new way. By employing line screens on various levels, I control the composition of the photograph, direct the eye, control the color, and give the image more depth.

First I choose the main emphasis of the photograph—usually a person but often a focal point in a setting, and I outline the form in Photoshop. It stays full strength and I often have to retouch something—brighten the darks or take out flaws.

Next, I lay a 50% line screen over the entire photograph, placing the outlined form on top. This visually pushes back what is unimportant and pops the focal points by brightness. Sometimes I will add another layer of screen.

virtual exhibit by Liane Sebastian

A photographic design technique gives emphasis to the artwork.

When Jetman Bowler, publisher, gave me his CHOICE column for Issue #2, he submitted my virtual exhibit at Magnolia Center for the Arts because he had hired Netera Landar to interview my avatar, Eleanor Medier. What resulted was that I got to employ the photographic illustrative approach to images that I created! This is an unusual opportunity!

Bowler Business Review

Netera Landar’s interview focused on my latest exhibition. So her article appears first in Bowler Business Review.

Netera Landar’s interview focused on my latest exhibition. So her article appears first in the magazine.

This show, all paintings, emphasizes the naturalness of the virtual environment. The setting is eclectic New Orleans. Across the courtyard in front of the building is Mary Rosella’s music venue, featuring live blues and jazz musicians as well as complementary DJ’s. Mary’s concept as an art center pairs music with visuals.

Bowler Business Review

Although Netera focused on the Magnolia show, I felt it only right to visually give more of my virtual background.

Although Netera focused on the Magnolia show, I felt it only right to visually give more of my virtual background.

Continuing in a series of virtual exhibitions, each has a different emphasis, responding to setting. The article reviews what I learned doing each one. Overall, the translation of real to virtual is more of a cultural rethinking than it is a mechanical one because it is easy to do with basic skills. Starting a gallery in SL is easy but sustaining it is hard. Building an audience is the same in any world.

Bowler Business Review

Balancing Netera’s article, because I control the magazine, I get to publish my views on where I am going next with ideas that more respond to the parameters and advantages in the virtual world.

Balancing Netera’s article, because I control the magazine, I get to publish my views on where I am going next with ideas that more respond to the parameters and advantages in the virtual world.

Concluding Netera’s piece with what I have learned in the virtual gallery business ties in with any reader wishing to embark or sustain that business. The potential  creative entrepreneur needs a central and controlled location to exhibit. Having displays around the grid only is to build visibility and drive traffic to the main gallery.   There, as in real life, throwing an event that is entertaining for guests will draw the crowds and sell work.

Please download Bowler Business Review #2 and read the article.

Liane Sebastian, illustrator, designer, writer, and publishing pioneer
About wisdomofwork

I have a passion for publishing: I wear a designer's hat, editor's coat, and publisher's shoes. See more about my work at www.lianesebastianillustration.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Virtual Visuals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

